Connect with us

FDC releases list of Party leaders arrested in Soroti


FDC releases list of Party leaders arrested in Soroti

The opposition Forum for Democratic Change, FDC party has released a list of 34 leaders who were arrested last night and this morning in Soroti, where they are overseeing the Soroti East Parliamentary by-election.

The list includes; Hon. Eng. Patrick Oboi Amuriat, Party President, Hon. William Nzoghu the Deputy President, Hon. Centenary Robert, Mobilizer, Hon. Nyanjura Doreen, the Deputy Lord Mayor and Micheal Emorut –POA’s driver.

Others on the list are; Augustine Ojobile the Deputy Chief Administrative Officer, Omer Paul the Mayor Soroti East Division, Denis Nono, Oboi Rajab, Elenyu John Calvin, Okwi Justine Kokas, Kassim Ogwang-PA to Hon. Attan, Jafar –Attan’s driver, Ojakol Moses and Eigu Daniel-Chairpersons FDC Soroti.

The other party members who have been arrested include; Acen Jane, Wanyera Simon, Mama Kevin -Opuyo coordinator, Erongu Moses, David Eguru, Ekou Robert, Edatu Joseph, Donge Pius, Okwii Emmanuel, Ramazan Rajab, Erwau, Kakeeto William, Counsel Buyondo Henry Patrick, Hakim Bukenya and Ms Wokuri Madanda.

The list ALSO includes Turyatemba Norman, Darlington Baryabarema Western Coordinator, Joan the FDC Eastern Coordinator and Chagga Oyat.

Police earlier confirmed the arrest of over 42 members of the party for campaigning outside the stipulated time of 6:00 pm.

The party indicates that this is a partial list of those whose arrests they have confirmed, while others have not been reached yet.

“This operation was commanded by an ordinary hired goon Karangwa from Jinja/Kayunga & Ssegujja. It’s appalling that Commissioners of Police, RPC, & DPCs are getting instructions from these goons who have taken over security in Soroti. All men save for women were driven to Dokolo CPS,” the party adds.

ASP Ageca Oscar Gregory the PRO, East Kyoga insists there is a lot of political propaganda and that the police will only arrest those acting against the law.

Polls opened this morning to elect a member of Parliament for Soroti East following the annulment of FDC’s Moses Attan’s election by the Court of Appeal. The Court of Appeal nullified his victory over the boundary demarcation that wrongfully annexed Aloet and Opiyai wards into the Soroti West constituency.

The other two candidates in the race are Herbert Edmund Ariko of NRM and Pascal Amuriat of Uganda People’s Congress.

Sarah Biryomumaisho is a multitalented freelance journalist with 10 years of experience in broadcast and publishing. She has worked with several radio stations and online publications. Twitter;

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Politics

To Top