Connect with us

Electoral Commission Publishes Final Presidential Election Results 2021


Electoral Commission Publishes Final Presidential Election Results 2021

The Electoral Commission has officially published final results of the recently conducted Presidential Elections on Thursday 14 January 2021. The Commission announced President Yoweri Museveni Tibuhabirwa winner of the Presidential election within 48 hours from the closure of polls as should be by law.

While addressing the media in Kampala on Thursday morning, Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama said the polls closed at 4:00pm on Thursday 14″ January and the forty-eight hours expired at 4:00pm on Saturday 16% January 2021.

“The provisional results of the Presidential Elections were announced cumulatively in the order in which they were being received, leading to a declaration by the Electoral Commission, based on the total number of thirty-three thousand four hundred and sixty-one (33,461) polling stations, which had been duly received and verified before the expiry of the 48 hours” Byabakama said.

He added that these stations account for 96.47% of the total number of polling stations (34,684) across the country.

“The declaration met the legal requirements of Section 57(4) of the Presidential Elections Act, which provides that a candidate shall be declared as President if he/she has obtained more than fifty percent (50%) of the valid votes cast at the election. The candidate who was declared as winner obtained more than 50% of the total votes cast at the election. The Commission considered the fact that the difference in votes obtained by the leading candidate and first runner up would not have a significant effect on the final results even if all the voters from the remaining one thousand two hundred and twenty-three (1,223) polling stations, totaling to six hundred ninety-four thousand two hundred and twenty-nine (694,229) voters were added to the first runner up” the EC Chairperson said.

Justice Byabakama says the Electoral Commission has since received and tallied the results of the remaining polling stations and President Museveni is still in the lead with 6,042, 898 votes representing 58.38%. The NUP Presidential candidate Kyaguiany Robert Sentamu 3,631,437 votes representing 35.08%, in third position is FDC Presidential candidate Patrick Oboi Amuriat 337,589 votes representing 3.26% while, Mugisha Muntu Gregg of the Alliance for National Transformation came fourth with 67,574 votes representing 0.65%.

Other candidates in the race were; DP’s Mao Norbert polled 57,682 votes representing 0.56%, Tumukunde Henry Kakurugu 51,392 votes representing 0.50%, Kabuleta Kiiza Joseph polled 45,424 votes (0.44%), Kalembe Nancy Linda polled 38,772 votes (0.37%), Katumba John polled 37,554 votes (0.36%), Mwesigye Fred polled 25,483 votes (0.25%) and Mayambala Willy came last with 15,014 votes, representing 0.15% of the total cast votes.

According to the Electoral Commission, Uganda has 18, 103,603 voters and 34,684 polling station. So far, the commission has received results from 34,601 polling stations, representing 99.76%. in total, 10,744,319 votes were cast (59.35%). 10,350,819 votes were valid while 393,500 votes were invalid representing 3.66% and 29,913 votes were spoilt.

“The Commission wishes to inform Ugandans that the results of eighty-three (83) polling Stations, with a total number of fifty-four thousand three hundred and fifty-seven (54,357) registered voters, were not included in the final tally due to various reasons.”

These reasons include: Allegations of ballot stuffing, that gave rise to violence and destruction of the voting

materials at the polling station; Grabbing of polling materials during the polling process; Grabbing of polling materials during the polling process, including envelopes containing elections results forms; Declaration of Results (DR) Forms missing in the results envelopes and the metallic black box; Total votes cast exceeded the number of registered voters for the polling stations; And acts of hooliganism and violence during the counting, leading to grabbing of polling materials by unknown persons;

The commission has since provided a copy of the summary of the Presidential Elections Results, the City/District summary tally sheet, and a soft copy of the tally sheet of results per Polling Station, to all Presidential Candidates.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News


Advertisement Enter ad code here
To Top