Connect with us

11 Candidates nominated for 2021 Presidential race


11 Candidates nominated for 2021 Presidential race

The independent electoral commission has officially concluded the nomination process for Presidential candidates who will participate in the 2021 general election.

EC chairman Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama announced at the closure of the exercise this afternoon that 11 people have been duly nominated, out of 23 who had shown interest in participating.

The exercise which started on Monday 2nd was concluded at 4:30PM on Tuesday 3rd November 2020.

The 11 candidates are identified as follows, in the nomination order; Yoweri Museveni Tibuhaburwa Kaguta (NRM), Tumukunde Henry Kakurugu (Indep) with a clock as his symbol and Mugisha Muntu Gregg (ANT) who were nominated on day one.

Others are; Kyagulanyi Robert Ssentamu (NUP), Mayambala Willy (Indep) with a Pot as his symbol, Amuriat Oboi Patrick (FDC), Katumba John (Indep) with a Table as his symbol, Mao Norbert (DP), Mwesigye Fred (Indep) with a Radio as his symbol, Kalembe Linda Nancy (Indep) who chose a Ball as her symbol and Kabuleta Joseph (Indep) with a Chair as his symbol.

While speaking after the nomination exercise on Tuesday, the EC chairman invited all candidates for the first meeting to harmonize campaign meetings slated for this week on Thursday 5th November 2020 at the EC head offices in Kampala.

He also congratulated all the candidates and urged them, agents and supporters to conduct themselves in accordance with campaign guidelines.

Byabakama also called on candidates and their teams to promote safe participation through observance of SOPs from the EC and health ministry.

He added that they are working in a COVID-19 environment and it is paramount that they all work together to safe guard Ugandans from the virus.

Presidential campaigns will start on Monday 9th November 2020.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News


Advertisement Enter ad code here
To Top