Connect with us

28 nominated for EALA as Speaker names verification committee


28 nominated for EALA as Speaker names verification committee

The Speaker of Parliament, Anita Among has named a 20-member committee to verify candidates vying for the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) seats. 28 candidates were nominated in the last two days to vie for the nine EALA slots for Uganda.

18 independent candidates and six incumbent members of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party were all nominated on Monday and Tuesday. Opposition political parties including Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), Democratic Party (DP), Uganda People’s Congress (UPC), and Justice Forum have each fielded one candidate.

The candidates will now be subjected to a Verification Committee chaired by Mbarara South Member of Parliament, Mwine Mpaka. The other committee members are Matheniko County MP Lokii John Baptist, Usuk County MP Bosco Okiror, Bugabula South MP Maurice Kibalya, Agago West MP Anywar Richard Ricky, Arua Central Division MP Jackson Atima Lee Buti, Bugangaizi East MP Aisa Agaba, Fort Portal City MP Irene Linda Mugisa, Mubende Woman MP Hope Grania Nakazibwe, Gomba West MP Robina Raakoojo and others.

The others are National Female PWDs MP Laura Kanushu, West Budama North East MP Fox Odoi, Worker’s MP Charles Bakkabulindi, Youth MP for Northern Region Boniface Okot, Budadiri West MP Nathan Nandala Mafabi, Bugiri Municipality MP Asuman Basalirwa, Nwoya East MP Charles Okello, Apac Municipality MP Patrick Ocan, Ndorwa East MP Wilfred Niwagaba and Uganda People’s Defence Forces (UPDF) MP, Lt. Col Dr. Jennifer Alanyo.

The members were selected from different political parties, according to the Speaker’s letter, read out during plenary on Tuesday by Deputy Speaker, Thomas Tayebwa.

The committee’s mandate is to scrutinize documents submitted by the candidates and ensure that they are citizens of Uganda, registered voters, of sound mind, and not under any sentence of death or imprisonment exceeding nine months. The committee is required to report back to parliament on Thursday, September 22nd ahead of the elections scheduled for  September 29th, 2022.

The term of the 4th East African Legislative Assembly ends on December 17th, 2022. EALA is an organ of the East African Community -EAC established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the establishment of the East African Community. 

The Assembly has a Membership comprising nine members elected by each Partner State; ex-officio members consisting of the Minister or Assistant Minister responsible for the East African Community Affairs from each Partner State; the Secretary-General and the Counsel to the Community.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Politics


Advertisement Enter ad code here
To Top