Connect with us

FDC Party withdraws candidate from Bukedea LCV Chairperson’s race


FDC Party withdraws candidate from Bukedea LCV Chairperson’s race

The Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party has announced the withdrawal of its candidate, Sam Oita Odeke, from the Bukedea Local Council V (LCV) chairperson’s race. FDC party President, Patrick Amuriat Oboi, expressed concerns about the lack of integrity and legitimacy in the electoral process, stating that they could not lend legitimacy to a race tainted by fraudulent practices.

In a press statement, Amuriat stressed the serious allegations of electoral fraud that marred the Bukedea by-election. The allegations included ballot stuffing, intimidation, and violence, leading the FDC party to question the transparency and legitimacy of the entire process.

“This by-election can only be characterized as yet another sham, devoid of transparency and legitimacy. We firmly refuse to participate in a process that lacks integrity and does not represent the will of the people of Bukedea,” read Amuriat’s statement.

Amuriat further condemned the involvement of the police and military in perpetuating these malpractices. He also denounced the intimidation, torture, and imprisonment of media personnel while carrying out their duties of covering the election.

The FDC party is now redirecting its focus towards determining the appropriate course of action in response to these alarming events. Throughout the Bukedea by-election, incidents of violence were reported, with media personnel being targeted as well. Journalists Eddy Enuru of NBS Television and George Emuron of Mama Bukedea FM were assaulted, and their equipment was seized by unidentified individuals.

Oscar Ageca, the East Kyoga Regional Police Spokesman, confirmed that investigations are underway regarding the incidents involving the two journalists. Dr Tanga Odoi, the Chairperson of the NRM Party Electoral Commission, also condemned the attacks on the media. While accusations of violence have been levelled against the ruling party, investigations are ongoing to determine the responsible parties.

With the withdrawal of the FDC candidate, the race for the Bukedea LCV chairperson position now features two remaining candidates: Mary Akol from the National Resistance Movement (NRM) party and Tychicus Lokwiisk Ebukalim, an Independent candidate leaning towards the NRM.

Bukedea District has a total of 100,294 registered voters spread across 180 polling stations in 16 sub-counties and town councils. The by-election came after the deayh of Moses Olemukan in December 2022 due to liver complications.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Politics


Advertisement Enter ad code here
To Top